Photographic Alliance of America

Photographic Alliance of America®

Home About Distinctions Awards Patronage Congress Biennials Clubs' World Cup


There are ten FIAP Distinctions for photographic merit: nine in ascending grades, and the separate Master (MFIAP) distinction. 

FIAP is organized to support club photography, and only members of PAA clubs whose membership is established through their membership in PSA, may apply for FIAP distinctions. Except for MFIAP, each distinction must be obtained in sequence and, at a minimum, on an annual basis.

Each FIAP distinction has two fees involved: the application fee and a processing fee
Each of the first nine FIAP distinctions is $60 plus the $60 processing fee = $120 total
The MFIAP distinction is $125 plus the $60 processing fee = $185 total

The Process
Anyone interested in the FIAP distinctions needs to study the information on this page and the separate pages describing the distinctions, the application schedule, and the FIAP Photographer’s Card. Several reference documents regarding the distinctions are linked, below:

  • How to Work Toward FIAP Distinctions _____________
  • Requirements for FIAP Distinctions (Projected and Print Images): pdf
  • Requirements for FIAP Distinctions (Audio Visual): pdf
  • Schedule for Submission of Applications for FIAP Distinctions: pdf (updated Nov 2019) - online FIAP distinction registration may be made December 1 through January 15 only
  • FIAP Sanctions Policy: pdf
  • Answers to Frequently Asked Questions: pdf