ND Star Ratings Program

Star Ratings Directors:

Stars 1-5 

 Wenyuan (Wendy) Li, EPSA, SPSA·

✉ Majdi Naser Al-Naser·

✉ Hong Li, EPSA·

Galaxy, Diamond, &
Photo Naturalist 

✉ Tuhin Kanti Das, QPSA, EFIAP, FFIP, AICS·
Galaxy Ratings

✉ Jenni Horsnell, GMPSA·
Diamond Ratings

✉ Daniel Charbonnet, HonPSA, EPSA·
Photo Naturalist Ratings
PSA members who have received acceptances in PSA-recognized Nature Exhibitions are eligible to apply for Nature Division (ND) Star Ratings. For additional information or help to apply for Nature Division Star Ratings, please send an email to the appropriate Director.

The Nature Division Star Rating program was initiated in 1953 as a method of providing exhibitors with recognition for their photographic proficiency in PSA-recognized Nature exhibitions. A member of PSA shall act in accordance with all applicable PSA Ethical Standards and Policy, both written and as obviously intended.
Select a topic, below, to reveal or hide its contents. To see all available information, choose "Show all."
    Show All / Hide All
  • Fees

    » The fee for processing each Star Rating, Galaxy Award or Diamond Award is $12.00. Payment is via PayPal only. A link will be sent once application is approved.

    There is no fee for processing a conversion.

  • Eligibility for a Star, Galaxy or Diamond

    » Applicants must be a member of PSA; however, acceptances received prior to membership are eligible for the First Star Rating requirements. Contact the Director for information regarding acceptances prior to membership. Please see the applications below for how to properly format the application.

    Judging credits: Judges will only be allowed credits for two of this division's sections no matter how many sections of an exhibition they actually judged.

    Basic requirements are:
    1 STAR - at least 18 acceptances with at least 6 titles.
    2 STARS - at least 36 acceptances with at least 12 titles.
    3 STARS - at least 72 acceptances with at least 24 titles.
    4 STARS - at least 144 acceptances with at least 48 titles.
    5 STARS - at least 288 acceptances with at least 96 titles.

    Galaxy/Diamond Ratings
    Acceptances in a division after a 5-star rating can be applied toward the more advanced, Galaxy and Diamond Ratings. There are 10 levels of Galaxy and 10 of Diamond Ratings. See the complete chart of requirements for each level.

  • Application
    » General information regarding Star, Galaxy, and Diamond Awards in the Nature Division: pdf
    » Star applications in all Divisions now use the application processes described in these documents:
    Star 1-5 Application Instructions: pdf 
    Star Ratings Application Spreadsheet: Excel
    Guidelines for Using the Star Application spreadsheet: pdf

    » Galaxy and Diamond applications in all Divisions use the application processes described in these documents:
    Galaxy-Diamond Applications Instructions: pdf
    Galaxy-Diamond Application Spreadsheet: Excel
    Guidelines for using the Galaxy-DIamond Application Spreadsheet: pdf

    » Photographer Naturalist Award Application (updated 12-21-2015)PDF
    » Nature - Star Ratings Conversion Procedurespdf
    » Conversion example working toward the Diamond Star in the ND: doc
    » Conversion example for Galaxy Award in the ND - doc