Best of Delaware Print Competition

The Best of Delaware Print Competition is an annual event created in honor of Dr. Erik Kissa. The first competition took place in 2018.

Save the date! Next Best of Delaware Competition is April 27, 2019. 

Last year’s inaugural Best of Delaware Print Competition was a wonderful addition to the Photographic Society of America’s events in Delaware. It provides an opportunity to recognize the talents of photographers in the state, learning opportunities for all, and a chance to enjoy the camaraderie of other photographers.  Here are the details:

When: Saturday, April 27, 2019, 2:30 to 4:30 p.m., Doors open at 2:00 p.m. for print registration!

Where: Lewes Presbyterian Church, 33 Kings Highway, Lewes, DE 19958

Guidelines and Requirements:

The print competition is open to all members of PSA who reside in Delaware. PSA donates a PSA Gold Medal for the annual Erik Kissa Memorial Award, which one talented person will be awarded. Three additional PSA honor ribbons are also presented.

Up to three prints per person can be entered. Just bring your matted or mounted prints up to 16x20” with you.

All are welcome to attend, including those who reside in another state or are not members of PSA. Everyone who attends can learn from the commentary provided by the three judges.

For 2019, the Best of Delaware Print Competition judges will be Gary Altoonian of West Chester, Pennsylvania; Diane Carnegie of Elkton, Maryland; and Robin Harrison of Ocean City, Maryland. These PSA members are recognized photographers and experienced printers who each bring valued perspectives.

Photo Shoot:
To make a day of it, Delaware Photographic Society and Coastal Camera Club are coordinating a photo-shoot at Cape Henlopen State Park in Lewes on the morning of April 27. In addition, after the print competition, a group will be going to dinner and heading out for a sunset shoot. Email Tom Lovatt at and Leslie Sinclair at if you are interested in either of these optional activities. The details will be provided. 

In the meantime, be thinking about which prints you will enter in the Best of Delaware Print Competition. We look forward to seeing you on April 27!

Lynn Troy Maniscalco and Leslie Sinclair
Your Delaware PSA Membership Team

Please select the link, below, to reveal past photos and winners from the competition.

    Show All / Hide All
  • - - - - - -
  • 2018 Best of Delaware Print Competition - Awards and Photos from the Event
    The 2018 Erik Kissa Memorial Medal, a PSA Gold, was awarded to Susan Peter in the first annual Best of Delaware print competition, hosted by Coastal Camera Club, on Saturday, April 28 in Lewes DE. The late Dr. Kissa was the previous State Membership Director and the competition was open to all PSA members living in DE. To honor his belief that the real value of competition is as a learning tool, the judging was followed by an interactive critique among the 120 observers and participants, with the jurors Andy Gordon, Lynn Maniscalco,HonPSA, EPSA and Tom Tauber, EPSA. Gordon also presented "Embarking on Your Creative Journey," and he and David Neff, a fellow RIT graduate, gave a workshop on focus stacking. The free all-day event, "A Day of Photography Inspiration and Education," was open to everyone, and included a photo flea market and PSA information for the benefit of non-members as well as members who are not taking full advantage of their membership. Partial support was provided by the Delaware Division of the Arts.

    The 2018 Winning Images

    Katmai Grizzly with Cub
    Susan Peter
    Gold Medal Winner
    Clouds over the Alaska Range
    Bob McCaffrey
    Honor Ribbon
    Blue-Footed Booby with Chicks
    Susan Peter
    Honor Ribbon
    Need a Ride to Church
    Paul Hammesfahr
    Honor Ribbon

    Photo from the Competition

    Photos courtesy of Sam Z. Markman.

    Lynn Troy Maniscalco, HonPSA, EPSA, (R) presents the Erik Kissa Memorial Award, a PSA Gold Medal, to Susan Peter (L) for her print, "Katmai Grizzly with Cub," named "2018 Best of Delaware." PSA honor ribbons went to (L to R) Bob McCaffrey for "Clouds Over the Alaska Range," Susan Peter for "Blue Footed Booby with Chicks," and Paul Hammesfahr for "Need a Ride to Church?"

    Jurors Lynn Troy Maniscalco,  Andy Gordon, and Tom Tauber provide commentary Paul Hammesfahr drawing for PSA item with Lynn Troy Maniscalco Competition in progress. The people in the front of the room are Gene Tadlock, Leslie Sinclair, Pat Powell, Joe Radcliffe, and Marta Nammack