PSA Recognition

PSA Recognition is grouped into two categories: recognition of photographic achievement and recognition of service to PSA and to photography as a whole.

Photographic Achievement
There are many avenues for a PSA member to earn photographic recognition.

  • STAR RATINGS are earned from participation and acceptance in PSA-approved exhibitions.
  • Amassed Star Ratings are converted into PSA Recognition of Photographic Achievement (ROPA) distinctions of  PPSA, EPSA, MPSA, GMPSA, GMPSA/b, GMPSA/s, GMPSA/g, GMPSA/s, or GMPSA/p;
  • PORTFOLIO DISTINCTIONS (BPSA, SPSA, GPSA) are earned from a body of work

The Society could not run without its volunteers and so recognizes the dedicated service of its members. Members may be awarded a PSA HONORS designation of APSA, FPSA, HonPSA, or HonFPSA. Others may receive specific division or other service awards.

This section begins with PSA's highest award, the Progress Medal, and continues by outlining the many awards and honors that PSA presents to recognize a member's photographic achievement and/or their service. Sections are linked directly to the information page of each. Hover over each section of interest (below or to the right) and click.

PSA Awards
The following are the areas in which PSA offers awards. Both Recognition of Photography and Recognition of PSA Service have many subcategories, which are listed separately, below.

Areas of Recognition of PSA Service

Areas of Recognition of Photography