Photographic Alliance of America

Photographic Alliance of America®

Home About Distinctions Awards Patronage Congress Biennials Clubs' World Cup


The first two are:

  • AFIAP: Artist FIAP
  • EFIAP: Excellence FIAP

The criteria for these two involve achieving specified levels of success in both Prints and Projected Images in FIAP Patronized Exhibitions (Salons). There are many other detailed requirements, including the submission of a portfolio of the applicant’s more successful work, and the need for Exhibition (Salon) awards in the case of EFIAP. There are separate criteria for AV workers for AFIAP & EFIAP awards.

The next seven are known as the EFIAP Levels Distinctions. These Distinctions are not available for AV workers.

  • EFIAP/b: Excellence FIAP Bronze
  • EFIAP/s: Excellence FIAP Silver
  • EFIAP/g: Excellence FIAP Gold
  • EFIAP/p: Excellence FIAP Platinum
  • EFIAP/d1: Excellence FIAP Diamond 1
  • EFIAP/d2: Excellence FIAP Diamond 2
  • EFIAP/d3: Excellence FIAP Diamond 3

From Bronze to Platinum, the applicant must have achieved specific numbers of acceptances and awards with work since their first acceptance in a FIAP Patronized Exhibition (Salon). For the Diamond Distinctions, the applicant must have achieved specified numbers of awards from the start of 2015 or from the date of the Platinum Certificate (whichever is later). In all cases, the submission must include a portfolio of photographs that have won awards in different countries.

Copies of applicant’s portfolios for all the above awards will be retained by the PAA for potential use in future FIAP Biennial Competitions.

MFIAP: Master Photographer FIAP

The tenth and final Distinction is recognized as the highest award that FIAP can bestow for photographic merit and, with conditions, is open to those who have held the EFIAP distinction for a minimum of three years.

An MFIAP application requires a themed portfolio of twenty (20) prints to the most exacting standards, which will be assessed by FIAP. There are separate criteria for AV workers.