PPD Star Ratings Program

Stars, Galaxies and Diamonds

‚úČ Wolfgang Lin, GMPSA, SPSA·

Please note - all applications for Pictorial Print Division Star, Galaxy and Diamond Ratings go to the Director.

PSA members who have received acceptances in PSA-recognized Pictorial Print Exhibitions are eligible to apply for PPD Star Ratings. For additional information or help to apply for PPD Star Ratings, please email the Director.

If you have not received acknowledgement of your application within 7 days, please contact the Star Ratings Director.

NEW: On July 1, 2019, the Star Paths in PPD will be reduced to two by:

  • Combining the current Large Color Print and Small Color Print Star Paths into a single Star Path called Pictorial Print Division-Color (PPDC), and
  • Combining the current Large Monochrome Print and Small Monochrome Print Star Paths into a single Star Path called Pictorial Print Division-Monochrome (PPDM).

Detailed information about these changes can be downloaded here - pdf

Select a topic, below, to reveal or hide its contents. To see all available information, choose "Show all."

    Show All / Hide All
  • Fees

    » The fee for processing each Star Rating, Galaxy Award or Diamond Award is $12.00. Payment is via PayPal only. A link will be sent once application is approved.

    There is no fee for processing a conversion.

  • Eligibility for a Star, Galaxy or Diamond

    » Applicants must be a member of PSA; however, acceptances received prior to membership are eligible for the First Star Rating requirements. Contact the Director for information regarding acceptances prior to membership. Please see the applications below for how to properly format the application.

    Judging credits: Judges will only be allowed credits for two of this division's sections no matter how many sections of an exhibition they actually judged.

    Basic requirements are:
    1 STAR - at least 18 acceptances with at least 6 titles.
    2 STARS - at least 36 acceptances with at least 12 titles.
    3 STARS - at least 72 acceptances with at least 24 titles.
    4 STARS - at least 144 acceptances with at least 48 titles.
    5 STARS - at least 288 acceptances with at least 96 titles.

    Galaxy/Diamond Ratings
    Acceptances in a division after a 5-star rating can be applied toward the more advanced, Galaxy and Diamond Ratings. There are 10 levels of Galaxy and 10 of Diamond Ratings. See the complete chart of requirements for each level.

  • Application
    » Star applications in all Divisions now use the application processes described in these documents:
    Star 1-5 Application Instructions: pdf (updated March 24, 2020) 
    Star Ratings Application Spreadsheet: Excel (updated September 19, 2019)
    Guidelines for Using the Star Application spreadsheet: pdf (updated September 2019)

    » Galaxy and Diamond applications in all Divisions use the application processes described in these documents:
    Galaxy-Diamond Applications Instructions: pdf (updated March 24, 2020)
    Galaxy-Diamond Application Spreadsheet: Excel (updated September 19, 2019)
    Guidelines for using the Galaxy-Diamond Application Spreadsheet: pdf (updated September 2019)